August 18, 2021

Contact: Molly Barrie
866.682.2729 x7075
[email protected]



ASBO International Awards Scholarships to Rising Leaders

Ashburn, VA –The Association of School Business OfficialsInternational (ASBO)  is pleased to announce the recipientsof the 2021 Emerging Leaders Scholarship. The scholarship, sponsored by Security Benefit, awards school business managers who have fewer than five years of experience with $2,000 to attend ASBO International’s Annual Conference & Expo. The 2021 conference will be held in Milwaukee, WI, in October.

“ASBO International is committed to supporting promising new professionals as they develop into our leaders of tomorrow,” ASBO International Executive Director David Lewis says. “The Emerging Leaders Scholarship is one way to honor that commitment by providing those new to the school business profession with targeted professional development and a network of mentors to guide them in their careers.”

“We are proud to support the 2021 ASBO Emerging Leaders Scholarship,” notes Don Wiley, Vice President & National Director, Affinity Market Relationships, for Security Benefit.  “We have been a leader in the education space for six decades, and firmly believe that it is critical to train and mentor our school business leaders of tomorrow.”

The 2021 Emerging Leaders Scholarship recipients are:

Ciara Corley, SFO, Director of Finance, Cahokia Unit School District 187, Cahokia, IL

Jericah Dawson, CPA, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer, Stillwater Public Schools, Stillwater, OK

Birdevinder (Rickie) Dhillon, Chief Business Officer/Director of Human Resources, Kepler Neighborhood School, Fresno, CA

Sarah Duncan, Director of Business Services, Clinton Community School District, Clinton, WI

Megan Hanichak, Accounting Supervisor, Eastern Lebanon County School District, Myerstown, PA

Gustavo Ibarra-Perez, Manager of Finance and Accountability, Tulsa Honor Academy Charter School, Tulsa, OK

Audra Kahl, Comptroller, Espanola Public Schools, Espanola, NM

Kim Knight, Executive Director of Business Services, Dieringer School District, Lake Tapps, WA

Claire Olson, Executive Director of Business, Nine Mile Falls School District 325/179, Nine Mile Falls, WA

Jacob Schweitzer, Business Manager, Garretson School District 49-4, Garretson, SD 

Alison Tyler, Chief Operations Officer, Academy of Health Sciences Charter School, Rochester, NY

Natasha Valencia, Administrative Coordinator, Program Analysis, Prince William County Public Schools, Manassas, VA

Aaron Whittle, Finance Officer, Casa Grande Elementary School District, Casa Grande, AZ

Renee Williams, Executive Director, Community Schools, Boulder Valley School District, Boulder, CO

Stacy Williams, Treasurer, Beaver Local School District, East Liverpool, OH

Abby Winstead, Director of Finance, Union Public School District, Union, MS

Lauren Wolfe, Business Services Manager, Corvallis School District, Corvallis, OR

Ashley Zhang, Accounting Supervisor, Mesa County Valley School District 51, Grand Junction, CO 

The mentors for the 2021 scholarship recipients are:

Lisa Bjorklund, Director of Business, Central Valley School District 356, Greenacres, WA

Jeff Johanning, Business Manager, Lancaster Community Schools, Lancaster, WI

Learn more about ASBO International’s Emerging Leaders Scholarship at and the Annual Conference & Expo at